2017 marks the 35th anniversary of the Citi Journalism Awards for Excellence, a global program to recognise the very best of business journalism around the world.

Journalists are invited to submit entries across four categories: broadcast, general business, markets and investment, and the economy. The overall winner, chosen from the four category winners, will participate in a 10-day study tour hosted by Columbia University in New York.

Michael Smith, Angus Grigg and Lisa Murray from The Australian Financial Review have been named joint winners of the 2017 Citi Journalism Awards for Excellence.

The three journalists received the award for their explosive coverage surrounding the detainment of Crown Resorts employees is China published in The Australian Financial Review.

The 2017 category winners were:

  • Jessica Sier winner of The Economy category for her article 'Oops, Something is Missing' published in The Australian Financial Review.
  • Alex Burke winner of the Markets and Investment category for his series 'Searching for retirement income solutions', 'The price of longevity' and 'Rethinking risk through goals-based investing' published in Financial Standard.
  • Michael Smith, Angus Grigg & Lisa Murray winners of the General Business category for their series 'Crown Resorts staff detained in China', 'Crown staff held in China for gambling crimes' and 'A House of Cards. Inside James Packer's Crown China Nightmare' published in The Australian Financial Review.
  • Michael Atkin winner of the Broadcast Media category for his series 'Careers Australia allegedly recruiting vulnerable students', Whistleblower claims Careers Australia paid him hush money' and Careers Australia more accusations of unfair selling tactics' which aired on ABC.

One of the key attributes of the awards is the integrity and independence of the judging panel, which is designed to represent a broad range of prominent Australian business, regulatory and community leaders.

A panel of ten independent judges and the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism in New York determined the category winners and the overall winner based on criteria that included analysis and understanding of the issue, introduction of new ideas, use of research and interviews, originality in thinking and impact.

This year's Judges were:

Yasmin AllenNon-Executive Director, ASX Limited
Cathie ArmourCommissioner, ASIC
Andrew BaxterCEO, Publicis Worldwide Australia
Paul Clitheroe AMNon-Executive Director, Ipac Securities Limited
Jacqui JonesChief Executive, ABCN (Australian Business and Community Network)
Sally LoaneCEO, Financial Services Council
Liz Ann Macgregor OBEDirector, Museum of Contemporary Art
Malcolm McComasChairman, McComas Capital
John MurrayManaging Director, Perennial Value Management
Andrew PridhamManaging Director, Moelis & Company and Chairman, Sydney Swans