Citi in Australia & New Zealand

The following information has been disclosed for the Citigroup Pty Ltd Consolidated group in accordance with APRA requirements relating to the public disclosure of prudential information.

1971 First National City Bank acquired 21.7% of Industrial Acceptance Corporation in Australia.
1977 Citicorp Australia Holdings formed and acquired 100% of Industrial Acceptance Corporation.
1982 Citibank commenced operations in New Zealand.
1984 Salomon Brothers established in Australia.
1985 Citibank granted full banking licence in Australia.
1986 County NatWest established in Australia.
1997 Salomon Brothers merged with Smith Barney to form Salomon Smith Barney Holdings in US
1998 Salomon Smith Barney acquired County NatWest in Australia
1998 Salomon Smith Barney acquired JP Morgan Asset Management in Australia
1998 Citigroup formed by merger of Citicorp and Travelers Group in US
1999 Diners Club Australia fully acquired by Citibank
1999 Salomon Smith Barney acquired ANZ retail brokerage in Australia
2000 Salomon Smith Barney acquired HSBC retail brokerage in Australia
2001 Official opening of Citigroup Centre at 2 Park Street Sydney by Australian Federal Treasurer the Honorable Peter Costello
2003 Salomon Smith Barney, the institutional clients business, renamed Citigroup
2004 Citibank Insurance and Investment business sold to Metlife
2005 Citigroup Asset Management sold to Legg Mason
2007 Citigroup changes logo and brand to Citi
2007 Private Client business renamed Citi Smith Barney
2009 Morgan Stanley Smith Barney created from a global merger of Citi Smith Barney and Morgan Stanley's wealth management business.
2010 Citi celebrates 25 years of banking in Australia
2012 Citi celebrates its 200th anniversary as a bank
2013 Citigroup sold its share in Morgan Stanley Smith Barney
2017 Citi and Bell Potter sign Memorandum of Understanding for an Australian distribution agreement
2017 Citi re-signs as a major sponsor of the Sydney Swans